Hello Baby!

16 weeks now and I feel like I’ve been pregnant forever. I think maybe it’s because of the ectopic just before this pregnancy, I feel like I’ve been pregnant a good five or six weeks longer than I have. Time is passing at a crawl. I can’t believe it’s only been two weeks since my dating scan, it feels like it was months ago. So progress is slow!

I’m feeling pretty good aside from daily bouts of indigestion (more on that later) and sinus headaches. I feel so congested and I wake up every morning with a headache that gets more throbbing as the day goes on. I would sell my grandmother for some sudafed! At the minute I’m just attempting to treat it with steaming and paracetamol but I think I’m going to have to bite the bullet and go see my GP and beg her for some sort of nasal spray or dynamite or something. The morning sickness is well and truly gone but the sinus headaches can leave me very nauseated.

I am also nesting BIG TIME. I know traditionally it’s a later pregnancy activity but for me it has always been something that has hit early. I’ve been slowly making my way through the house clearing out drawers and cupboards and getting rid of excess furniture. I actually begged the husband for a Dyson vacuum cleaner for my birthday (it’s amazing). All the bending and carrying is playing merry hell with the indigestion though so I must keep a ready supply of Rennie and Ranitidin on supply. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen the ad campaign for Rennie where they say it converts excess stomach acid to “water and ‘other substances'”, my dear friend Jacintha was quite correct when she tweeted “Just say farts, Rennie, just say farts.”

The urge to clear out and redecorate the house is quite overwhelming. I did a ruthless toy cull and then my eye turned to the bags and bags of baby clothes that are filling our wardrobe. With my last two children being girls I seem to be overrun with pink. On Friday (during an epic nesting session) I started to get very twitchy about them and felt an overwhelming urge to know whether or not I could donate them to charity if I should start washing them in preparation for baby.

All of this meant that on Saturday morning I found myself climbing the stairs to the private ultrasound clinic in town for a gender scan. I was very nervous as they usually don’t perform them until 18+ weeks and they didn’t sound entirely confident on the phone about how successful it would be. I’ve also had a very strong boy feeling from the beginning with this pregnancy and I knew I had to prepare myself for the possibility that it could be another girl.

I’m reserving judgement on the result. The sonographer seemed 100% confident but I’ve heard too many stories of people being told one thing and then popping out a different flavour so I’m going to wait the few weeks until my anomaly scan before I announce it one way or the other.

One perk of the scan was she put on the 3d probe at no extra charge and gave us a sneak peek. I wasn’t expecting to see anything great being so early on but we actually got some amazing pictures. I can only apologise for the poor quality of them here, I tried taking a photo of the scan pic with my phone but the paper they are printed on is very reflective.

20140426_155951 20140426_160007It was really special. We even saw baby sucking its thumb at one point.

Hopefully I’ll have the house is order and a cure for my sinus woes before baby gets here, after all I still a very, very long time to go.

 

