9 Weeks

cyclizine

My doctor has given me a prescription for cyclizine and I have high hopes that it will help me to feel at least slightly normal again. It definitely takes the edge of the sickness enough for me to get on with things.

Yesterday was an odd day. In the morning I saw my GP and in the afternoon I took a notion and decided to book a private scan in the new place that has opened in town. I had a look at their facebook page to get the contact details. You know what Facebook pages are like, they show you if any of your friends have also “liked” a page. I was quite surprised to see that my sister-in-law had liked it. Being a naturally nosey suspicious curious person I started to wonder, hmmm is she pregnant? It seems like a very niche page to like.

Anyway it’s not exactly the sort of thing you can just come out and ask if I put it out of my mind and went ahead and booked my own scan, without  “liking” the page and giving myself away.

Last night I went with my sister. I’ll be honest I felt a bit silly booking the scan. It really was down to my own paranoia, but then I thought to myself this is DEFINITELY my last pregnant and with three losses in my past maybe it’s okay for me to be a bit precious and seek out some reassurance when I feel that I need it. I’m very pleased to report that little Loki (I have nicknamed the bean that on the basis that I think there’s a very good chance it was conceived while watching Avengers) is doing well. He/she is now measuring 9 weeks and 1 day, had good cardiac activity, a visible cord and yolk sac and was wriggling all round the place, waving its little limb buds about.

Loki

 

So freaking cute.

After the scan I was home again and then it was time to go out with husband. This was the sad part of the day. We were going to the wake of his cousin’s son. He was only three years old and died of a very rare genetic disorder. I cannot put into words how heartbreaking it was to see him. It’s not the natural order of the world, no parent should ever have to go through what they are going through right now. It was such a strange juxtaposition, there I was just an hour before taking a peek at new life and then…

If you have kids, hug them extra tight and be glad they are there to drive you crazy.

Sister-in-law was at the wake helping out with making tea and handing out sandwiches. We were standing together having a chat and I discovered that my hunch was correct. She is pregnant, not only that but we are both due on the same day.

A very strange day altogether.

 

Leave a Reply

