I love the German language, it has so many great, descriptive words. Most of us are familiar with schadenfreude, but there are many other gems like schlimmbesserung (making something worse while trying to make it better) or kummerspeck (the weight gained through comfort eating – the literal translation of that is “grief bacon”) and then there’s good old mittelschmerz (middle pain) the word used to describe the sensation of ovulation.

It’s not something I have a lot of experience with. In the past I had the occasional niggle, perhaps a slight popping sensation, which could have been ovulation or could have been gas frankly, but this the return of my cycle post-Little A, oh my glob am I aware of it.

Before the ectopic was diagnosed I thought that maybe I had ovarian cysts because of the pain that I was feeling around ovulation. An ectopic hadn’t even entered my mind because the pain I was experiencing was pretty much identical to what I had felt around ovulation for the past three months. I had sort of hoped that maybe it would start to ease off but last night it was back with a vengeance and I was doubled over in bed, clutching my stomach and trying not to cry. It wasn’t cramping, it wasn’t a slight pop, it was more like a hot knife being shoved into my ovaries and twisted slowly. When the sharp pain subsided, the burning pain remained, along with a horrible sensation of pressure. Thankfully, when I woke up this morning it had eased, the burning sensation is still there along with a dull ache, and it’s present on both sides but definitely worse on the left. Hopefully this egg will pop soon and I can get a few weeks respite before it hits again.

One thought on “”

  1. Ouch. I have o pain like that sometimes. No idea why! It’s awful isn’t it? Great German words btw 🙂

Leave a Reply

