Cycle Day 14

Fertility Friend can be a bit of a double edged sword. I’ve been pretty lucky that in the past it hasn’t taken me very long to conceive (three losses aside) so while I’m a long term user of the site, I’ve never been a very regular user. Most the past cycles I have on there are pregnancy cycles, and I have a mere two that didn’t result in pregnancy. One of those is a post-partum cycle, so I have no idea when it started, which leaves me with one complete look at how my cycle goes when I’m not knocked up.

I spend far too much staring at my old cycles as if they might offer up some sort of clue as to what is going to happen to my body over the coming weeks. Since my cycle returned post the birth of little A (of which there have been a mere three) I’ve been ovulating pretty late. One cycle was day 19, the ectopic cycle was around day 27. I’ve also read that post-ectopic cycles can last anything from 6-10 weeks. Wow. That’s going to be a lot of OPKs.

I’ve been doing OPKs for the last few days and they have been depressingly blank. I know that women always have a little bit of LH in their systems, in the past I have always been able to pull some sort of line on an OPK but these are yielding up just the control line, as if my ovaries have decided that I can’t be trusted to make decisions about them so they are currently on strike.

Touche ovaries. Touche.

Image

Is this normal? It’s never been the norm for me. It probably is normal and I am terribly over-thinking it (especially as we are supposed to be on a ttc break – still haven’t made a decision on that one yet). I guess I’m just anxious to get this cycle up and running because sitting around for ten weeks would suck ass. As you may have gathered reading previous posts on this blog, patience is not my strong suit.

Emotionally, I am feeling a bit better today. I woke up this morning and the postman delivered a surprise package. Last week, I received a massive (and gorgeous) bunch of flowers from the ladies on my son’s birth board

Image

and this morning the parcel contained a fabulous framed cross-stitch with the words to the Rains of Castamere stitched on it (they know me so well). They also made a donation to Diabetes UK in my name (my eldest daughter was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes just over a year ago). It has made me feel very loved, and the timing was perfect.

Leave a Reply

