The Hospital Bag

 

I’m not sure if it’s nesting or what, but I have felt a pathological urge this week to have absolutely everything ready for baby’s arrival. I went to Mothercare a few nights ago to pick up some nursing bras and nearly had a full on tantrum in the car park when I discovered that they had closed early for a stock-take. I put the cot together (but haven’t side-car’ed it to the bed yet, that’s another post) and I went furniture shopping for a chest of drawers for the baby’s clothes. I had one misadventure with a terrible bit of flat-pack, but that’s been returned to the store now and I went to a proper furniture shop instead. Lastly I had to finish off the job of putting together my hospital bag.

You see there’s still no sign of baby turning, I can’t decide whether or not to try the external cephalic version. This entire pregnancy I haven’t been able to settle myself on the idea of birthing at home (which is odd, considering the iron will I applied to making sure I got my home births on the last two occasions). Maybe my body has been trying to tell me something? Maybe this baby is breech for a reason? Maybe I’m supposed to go to hospital?

I don’t know, but just in case I need a hospital bag packed and ready to go, so like a woman possessed I went out this week and rounded up all those last bits and pieces.

Presenting – What to Pack for Hospital (bearing in mind you intend to spend as little time there as humanly possible).

The Bare Essentials:

 

I’ll admit there’s a few repeated elements here from the “What You Need for a Home Birth” post. Okay so here’s the run down of hospital essentials.

  •  Something to Give Birth In – I have a few options here. Firstly I have a tankini (In case miracles happen, baby flips and I manage to get into a birthing pool) and a breastfeeding friendly night dress.
  • Something to wear afterwards – I have two changes of PJs here. One black and one in slightly more summery colours. Colour isn’t important, well maybe black is the sensible choice given the chances of leakage.
  • Underwear – many, many changes of pants (see the above note on leakage) and nursing bras.
  • Socks and slippers. It might be an idea too to bring a pair of flip flops to wear into the hospital showers.
  • Maternity pads and breast pads.
  • Toiletries – the usual shampoo, shower gel, tooth paste etc. Best to bring a roll-on deodorant, rather than a spray, so you don’t choke your baby/other people on the ward when you use it. Oh and witch hazel! Don’t forget the witch hazel.
  • Not Pictured – Batteries/Camera, magazines/books, earplugs/eye mask, labour snacks, mobile phone & charger, own pillows/nursing pillow. Change of clothes to wear home.

For Baby – The Bare Essentials

  • I haven’t included everything that I’m packing in this picture (don’t want to give away the flavour!) but this is enough to give you an idea.
  • Portable Changing Mat
  • Nappies
  • Cotton wool
  • Nappy Sacks
  • Wipes (for you, not baby)
  • Muslin cloths
  • Receiving blanket
  • Cotton Hats
  • Baby gros
  • Vests
  • Socks
  • Scratch Mitts
  • Hand sanitising gel.

 

 

So there’s the run down. Hopefully these bags will never cross in my front door but should I need to go to the hospital I’m ready to rock. One week to go to see if baby will turn. Here’s the 35 weeks Bump.

Leave a Reply

