And breathe

Feeling much calmer today. I think that I need to accept that there are things I can’t change. I can’t make the people around me behave the way they I think they should. The only person who’s actions I can control are my own, so I either need to let go of the things that annoy me or I need to learn to be more assertive. Passive aggression plus crazy hormones does not make for a good mental state.

But moving things back to the pregnancy…. so as I said they changed my EDD on Friday when I went for the scan. Now I think they’ve had some sort of mathematical mess up along the way with that. On Friday the doc said that the baby was measuring 13+4, but put my EDD down as the 4th of July, now every EDD calculator I’ve looked at says if you were 13+4 on the 30th of December then your EDD should be the 2nd of July. Now being that I know that date is wrong and I didn’t ovulate nearly a week before I got a positive OPK it would seem to be irrelevant, I just worry about midwives and what not rigidly sticking to the EDD from the scan and putting me as overdue almost a week before my actual due date. I’ve decided to save myself confusion if anyone asks I’m going to stick with the 7th, my forum tickers can all stay that way and my weekly emails. I would be lovely to jump forward a week but it just wouldn’t be accurate.

I’m almost a week in to the new healthy eating regime now too. I did sign up for Slimming World last week but after about a day of following their plan I had to abandon it and go back to Weight Watchers. It just wasn’t working for me, I found it much too restrictive, so I’m back to counting propoints but I get to mix it up with their Filling and Healthy plan too (which is pretty much the same as the Slimming World plan), the plus is it’s giving me a lot of flexibility. It’s tomorrow night before I weigh in again and I’m not sure what to expect. I have been eating better for the last week but I haven’t been perfect by a long shot, and I guess I need to get my head around the fact that I’m not looking for losses as such at the scales now, rather I’d like my weight to be stable and limit any additional weight gain.

As far as other symptom’s go –

The sickness is pretty much gone now. I can drink tea again (hoorah!) and the odd glass of Diet Coke doesn’t make me horribly ill. It is wonderful to feel human again….

albeit a human plagued by heartburn. I suffered from indigestion a lot in my first pregnancy. My sadist of a doctor back then neglected to tell me that I could take zantac so I had to live on Gaviscon. It was almost as bad as the heartburn. I remember when I was in hospital just before my daughter was born I asked for some and they brought me a cup of it, some of which got spilt onto the bedside table. A while later I went to lift it and discovered that the spilt patch had set like candle wax. Vile stuff. I don’t buy into the heartburn = hairy baby though, true I only suffered with heartburn in one pregnancy and that happened to produce the hairiest child but Squish wasn’t too far behind on the hair stakes, though all her baby hair fell out and she remained virtually bald for a long, long time. Even now at the age of two I can maybe with a lot of coaxing put her hair into two pathetic piggytails, the eldest daughter by comparison had a head of flowing locks.

The tiredness has abated somewhat too. All this new found energy is making me want to get out there and be active but the weather between snow and gale force winds has been conspiring to keep me inside. I have an overwhelming urge to join a gym but I’ve been assured this is normal for January and if I lie down with some chocolate for a few hours the urge should subside.

Well my super healthy soup I made for lunch is ready so I must away but I will leave with a pic of the bump at 13+1

Leave a Reply

