12 Weeks

 

Here is how are looking at 12 weeks. I also weighed myself yesterday morning and discovered I have put on a staggering 14 pounds in the last 12 weeks, so I took myself to my nearest Slimming World class last night and signed up. I actually feel pretty nervous about it, I mean aside from the nausea which took the shine off it somewhat, it has been wonderfully liberating in some ways to spend three months eating crap, it certainly involved less effort on my part as I didn’t have to worry about the effort of meal planning or cooking. The results of three months of eating crap are plan and I’m more terrified of piling weight on than I am of going without cake, I think. I am pretty concerned about going without cake. Possibly it would be easier if the house wasn’t currently full of half the contents of a Thornton’s chocolate shop, but something has got to give and I’d rather it wasn’t the seat of my trousers when I bend over. Slimming World is at least approved for pregnancy, so it’s no crazy dieting, just healthy eating. My best friend (with whom I share too much) thinks I’m a bit crazy to go and pay someone to tell me what I already know about healthy eating, but it’s not that, it’s the accountability that I need and the fear of being weighed in public.

The scan is on Friday. I’m feeling quite nervous about it, largely because the sickness seems to have faded away, and rather than rejoicing that I feel more human I’m just feeling paranoid that it’s a sign something has gone wrong. Hopefully it is just rampant paranoia. I will post on Friday anyway with an update.

In the meantime I hope you all have had a very Merry Christmas.

One thought on “12 Weeks”

  1. I think that everyone gets that anxiety when the insane symptoms of the first trimester start to wear off! I used to freak out daily if I didn’t throw up or experience a little heartburn. I got over that and then I started to feel movement! And then, naturally started to freak out any time I didnt feel movement! I think eventually we calm down. A little? Maybe? I hope!

Leave a Reply

