9+2

I’ve gotten over my rage somewhat (hormones are responsible for SO much). It’s hard to stay mad when you have a scan and it’s all looking good.

I’m delighted to say that the scan today went very well. The baby is now 2.6 cm from head to “boom” (as my Eastern European OB said, love the accent), heart beating away and limb buds that are starting to look more and more like recognisable arms and legs. I’m discharged from the EPU now and tomorrow I go to the midwives for my booking appointment. Today they were dating it 9+3, a day ahead of where I think I am, but last time they were measuring it a day behind so I guess it all evens out in the end.

So here it is, I admit it’s a hard one to decipher. In the small picture the little round thing above the baby’s head is the yolk sac, on the bigger picture those little things sticking out at the bottom are legs and the little thing sticking out about half way up is an arm. My husband thinks it looks like a potato, the Boy thinks it’s a frog (not sure if that’s an improvement on it being a cat) and Squishy tried to eat the photo. I’m not sure how she feels about losing her youngest baby status.

The doctor at the EPU thinks that if you get to 8 or 9 weeks and things are going well, chances are they will continue to do so, so fingers crossed he is right.

Leave a Reply

