The Major Bokes*

I woke up on Friday morning feeling so sick I could barely lift my head off the pillow. I spent all day in an advanced state of misery, unable to keep anything down and relying heavily on my 9 year old once she got in from school to make sure the younger two didn’t get up to any major mischief while I spent an inordinate amount of time in the bathroom praying to the porcelain god. I’ll be honest I started to freak out a bit.

In her last pregnancy, my older sister suffered from hyperemesis gravidarum. It was painful to watch but I imagine it was a lot more painful to go through. She puked endlessly and was hospitalised at least twice with it, and she had it relatively mild compared to others. She came out the other side with her sanity only just intact and swearing that she will never get pregnant again. I started to panic on Friday thinking oh no, what I’ve suddenly developed this? How on earth would I cope with that and the toddlers? Luckily my husband started to throw up profusely later that evening and as he is definitely not pregnant I breathed a sigh of relief to think oh thank heavens this is just some sort of virus.

The downside is I feel utterly drained now. I’m back to pre-virus levels of blurgyness which is a huge relief but I am so tired I finding it very hard to not exploit the fact that it is the weekend and abandon the husband to childcare duties while I lie in bed sipping ginger ale and watching Fringe boxsets.

Tomorrow we’re off to the EPU for our early scan. I am very, very nervous about it. What if they do the scan and there is nothing there?  Or things aren’t going as they should? I will feel much better when this scan is over and done with (and hopefully we have a good result). We haven’t told the in-laws our news yet, we’ve decided to wait until 12 weeks, but we do need to get my father-in-law to come sit with the babies tomorrow while I go to the “dentist.”

Well I shall report back tomorrow with the results and hopefully I’ll have a nice scan picture to share, if not I shall at least post a picture of my now 7 week “bump.” Wish me luck.

*boke being an Irish/Scottish term for sickness

Leave a Reply

