Eating for two

Aside from feeling absolutely vile on Saturday I haven’t had too much in the way of morning sickness yet. This is a mixed blessing, I don’t want to feel sick, but I’d probably feel at least a little reassured if I was feeling sick. It’s a no win situation, if I was throwing up I’d be complaining about that too.

At the moment though I am just hungry. Constantly hungry. I had a banana less than half an hour ago and I’m looking around my kitchen now thinking to myself what can I eat? It’s hard. I’m determined not to pile on the pounds but it is hard finding satisfying and filling things to tuck in to, especially when I feel like I could eat every meal twice. So I’m tucking into a big plate of grapes, cheese and crackers and trying to convince myself that is very healthy.

It’s actually very hard to get information about healthy eating in pregnancy. You can get it in a very vague sense of don’t eat these foods and eat lots of these foods. But no one puts numbers on it. I’m sticking with weight watchers, even though officially they do not have a programme for pregnant women, I guess the difference is instead of losing weight I’m just trying to maintain. I’m not being hugely strict with myself though, I’m going with the theory that if I have a sensible breakfast, lunch and dinner, with room for some snacks it should keep me right. It will really help that I am no longer enjoying a tipple of a weekend either as that cuts out snacking on pretzels during and then taking bacon sandwiches as medicine for a hangover. I am probably giving myself a little more leeway than usual with things with nuts and seeds because I figure at least those are good fats.

I’m glad I don’t have any major dietary adjustments to make and that I’ve already discovered my love of fruit and veg and wholegrains. I just need something now to beat my love of chocolate and fried food to death with.

Leave a Reply

