My Preggo Style

preggo fo sho T-Shirt

One of the things that I’ve been looking forward to the most about getting pregnant again is the maternity clothes.

That might sound bat shit crazy. Who in their right mind wants to wander around in mumus and or badly fitting maternity jeans that fall down when you stand up and dig in when you sit down? Who wants to be limited to one tiny dark corner of a shop where they have about 3 things and two of those have “Big Mutha” written on them in glitter?

Bat Shit Crazy Me. That’s who.

You see…. I used to be quite a large lady. I was a UK size 20/22 through my previous pregnancies. I had a BMI of 35+. If you think the selection of maternity clothes is generally bad, you should check out the maternity options for the plus size lady.

I fantasised about sexy Isabella Oliver numbers, of the chic collection that Mamas & Papas did. I made lists of the things I liked at Boden and Vertbaudet and I fell into a fit of depression when I realised they didn’t stock my size. I couldn’t even get a swimming suit in my size. I rotated 3 or 4 outfits through my pregnancies. The only real break I got was wearing my wedding dress and that wasn’t so much Angelina Jolie pregnant with twins glamour as hippo wrapped in silk with a nice up-do.

There were a few people who didn’t even realise I was pregnant just weeks before my daughter was born (including the “psychic” who I’ve blogged about before).

After my youngest was born I started at Weight Watchers and over the course of about a year and a quarter I shed a shocking 7 stone in weight (98lbs). Okay admittedly I have regained about 14 pounds of that, but I am a much happier UK size 12 now and I am looking forward immensely to rocking the preggo look. I’ve been thinking about what my preggo style is going to be and have decided I am going with leggings, funky tunics, chunky knits and boots. I am going to fake my glow if necessary with a bucket load of Clarins and Benefit cosmetics. This may well be the last time I go down the maternity path and I want to look back on the photos without cringing. It saddens me that I have virtually no bump pics from my three children because I was too busy hiding from the camera.

So I’m going to glow damnit and swan about

because I know from experience that after the baby is born I’ll spend at least two months in pyjamas covered in a fine patina of baby sick.

I can’t WAIT to start shopping.

Leave a Reply

