Adventures in Pee Sticks Part 3

I hate to admit it, but I think I was right in my initial assessment that pound shop tests are not to be trusted.

I did 3 tests this morning. An Asda own brand test (supposedly accurate from 4 days before your period is due)

A Predictor test (supposedly accurate from 5 days before your period is due)

And then (even though I know they are not very sensitive) I cracked out a clear blue digital

There’s maybe a faint line on the Asda test, and maybe a fainter line on the predictor but it’s probably just the test strip I’m seeing. There are 3 possible explanations to what is going on here

  1. Pound Shop tests are shite and their manufacturers are bastards.
  2. I’ve had a chemical pregnancy. An egg was fertilized and started to implant, produced a small amount of HCG but then failed.
  3. The pound shop test was in fact incredibly sensitive and I am extremely early in this whole pregnancy process – BUT given that I got the first “positive” test two days ago I would have expected the HCG levels to have doubled by now and for it to be detectable in some reliable form by a branded early test.

Another possibility, I suppose, but not one I would want to contemplate would be that I am pregnant but it is ectopic and thus the hcg levels aren’t doubling properly. I really hope this is not the case.

Finally (and I’m not including these last ones in the “official” list of reasons above is – according to random ladies of the internet (and no scientific evidence that I can find at all) there is one school of thought that thinks breastmilk sort of mops up random excesses of hormone. Some ladies swear they found it impossible to get a positive urine test when breastfeeding because all the HCG ended up in their breast milk instead of in their urine. I think this is even more unlikely, largely because I don’t want to turn desperate thinking that despite all the evidence to the contrary I’m still in with a chance.

However – I do have an appointment to see my GP this morning and I’m going to ask her to do a beta HCG blood test. I would like to know if I actually have any HCG in my system at all so that I can put this whole experience down to either 1 or 2.

On the plus side (if there is a plus side to this) if it is down to number 2 and I have had a chemical pregnancy, at least I’ll know that I’m finally getting my cycle back and I’ll have something to work with.

When I started this I didn’t want to get neurotic or crazy or obsessive. I certainly didn’t want to spend a small fortune on pee sticks (I’ve been near bankrupted as it is with vet bills and the on going flea war. Stupid cat).

Dear reader, I have failed.

One thought on “Adventures in Pee Sticks Part 3”

  1. I loved reading this. I laughed until I cried. Thankyou for perfectly describing the dilemna of ‘pregnant or not?’

Leave a Reply

