Allow me to introduce myself…

So here’s the story so far…

I’m 30 years old and married with 3 children. I have a 9 year old girl (unplanned, but a delightful surprise), a 2 year old boy (most definitely unplanned, but equally a delightful surprise, once I stopped hyperventilating) and a one year old girl (she was planned). In between my boy and my baby girl I had a miscarriage, but I was lucky (insofar as anyone can be considered lucky in those circumstances) that it was very early, so while it was a distressing experience I’m pretty glad it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.

Most of my friends and family consider me sectionable  for my desire to add to the family with baby number four. Truth is I would have done it already but my body has refused to cooperate. It’s been 20 months since my darling baby came into the world and her very close relationship with my boobs has made making a sibling for her a physical impossibility.

I’m experiencing the joy that is lactational amenorrhea, in layman’s terms I haven’t had a period since December 2008. Now it has it’s advantages, it’s fairly wonderful not to experience PMS or cramping but when it comes to wanting to make another baby, it sucks.

We night-weaned (more or less) the baby about two months ago and I was hoping that would be enough to wake up my ovaries and get them back to business but they’ve remained resolutely in their hormone induced coma.

I’m not prepared to completely wean the baby. I don’t think she would take to that suggestion well at all, and life can be stressful enough with two little ones getting under your feet and another one sky-rocketing towards puberty.

So what are my options?

I did a bit of googling, which as we all know is the solution to all life’s problems, and I hit on a few things. It seems giving soy isoflavones, agnus castus (also known as vitex or chaste berry) and vitamin b6 is worth a try. I duly took myself to my local branch of Holland & Barratt and picked up some agnus castus and vitamin b12. Yes vitamin12. I’d gotten up and taken my first dose before I realised I’d bought the wrong stuff.

I’m on day 5 of the agnus castus now and I’ve been told it can take up to 3 months to work (I wonder how much of the effect is down to the herb or just it may happen in that time frame anyway?) I really hope it works a lot quicker than that, not just because I’m totally impatient but because it makes me feel horribly sick. I don’t want to go through three months of what feels like morning sickness before I have to deal with actual morning sickness.

In the next few months I hope to chronicle in this blog my experiences of WAITING for my fertility to return (it’s like being a 12 year old again and raging with jealousy because seems like everyone else you know has gotten their period), trying to get pregnant (without graphic detail) and hopefully the eventual pregnancy and birth.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

