OPK as HPT Progression & Clear Blue Digital Tests

Thought I would post this for anyone who is interested. I haven’t had an over abundance of pregnancy tests in the house but I do have left over OPKs. I did one on Thursday night, Friday morning, Saturday morning and today (so 12 dpo to 15)

It’s nice to see them getting darker. Short and sweet post here but I find the whole OPK as HPT thing quite interesting!

UPDATE: I have to add this picture as well as it made me do a little happy dance

I don’t know if this is true but I did read somewhere that the conception indicator works like this

1-2 weeks – hcg level of 50-200 (96.5% accurate – the accuracy rating comes from Clear Blue’s own literature so I know that bit at least is true)

2-3 weeks – hcg level of 200-2000 (76.1% accurate)

3+ weeks – hcg level of 2000+ (96.9% accurate)

It’s also worth nothing that above 3 weeks the accuracy level can drop a lot (don’t have a specific figure about that). This is because of the Hook Effect. Basically the hcg levels can be so high that they overwhelm the test and it gives weird results. Some people testing with a regular HPT may find that they get a very faint line, or even a negative, but if they use a more dilute sample they will get a strong line again.

And to round this bit on CB Digis off here is a picture of the strips from the test after I broke it open (which you’re really not supposed to do).

The top is a low sensitivity strip and the bottom is a high sensitivity strip. I have broken a few digitals open in my time and while they might not always have lines this dark they have absolutely ALWAYS had 2 lines on the top strip and one on the bottom (kind of wish I had taken pictures before). So…. cracking open a digital is not a reliable way to determine whether or not you actually have a BFP and the digi processor just isn’t picking it up. http://www.peeonastick.com has a great section on this.

8 thoughts on “OPK as HPT Progression & Clear Blue Digital Tests”

  1. could you tell me i’m 6 days late on my period took a digital thats come back negative opened the back, put the strips same position as your picture i have two lines on top strip right one very dark and a very light one very on bottom strip any ideas what it means.

  2. Thank you for posting your opk progression. I have the same shade opk as your dpo 13 test and I’m 13dpo. Hoping for the same result as you :)

  3. We did 2 cheap tests both have faint line on them so bought a clear blue which says negative. Took it apart and its the exact same as your picture above. The test took 5 mins to give negative result. This is 5 days before my period is due. Bit confusing.

    1. I have the exact same situation as the pic of the digital tests above in that picture I was just wondering how you got on ? I saw you wrote you also had the same scenario a bfn but like me when you took the test apart U had a faint line on bottom ,?
      Thanks
      Dee xx

      1. The test was positive and we have a lovely daughter who was born in March just gone, so if the test is the same as I described then let me be the first to congratulate you ๐Ÿ˜„ x

  4. Congratulations definitely pregnant
    Mine were the same I’m now 37 weeks and very much looking forward to meeting my 3rd little girl x ๐Ÿ˜ƒstart taking pregnecare if you haven’t already x

  5. Hi omg delighted I found your post I know its old but I am convinced im pg with all the symptoms took a CB digital test got a BFN so stumbled across your post an I took your advice an ripped it right open an I put the 2 sticks in same position as yours an I have a nice faint kine on bottom one to am wondering is this my lucky month to lol I font know how to post pics on here but if someone is kind enough to mail me I would be happy to.have there opinion an very greatful to I must add thanks a mill in advance
    Dee xxx

Leave a Reply

